Session #52 “Beer Collectibles”

Note: “The Session, a.k.a. Beer Blogging Friday, is an opportunity once a month for beer bloggers from around the world to get together and write from their own unique perspective on a single topic”. Read more here.

A modest post from me; I have never contributed to “the session” before, but I love the idea. This month it’s “Beer Collectibles and Breweriana”. I pick up trinkets and bits and bobs, I keep labels I like and beermats, but I wouldn’t call it a collection, and I doubt I have anything that anyone is not familiar with, who knows, maybe someday it will be interesting enough to make it out in to the wider world.

Instead for my first session I’m simply going to show you two of my favourite beer related items. One is very old, and one is very new. These items, for your delectation Ladies and Gentlemen are: A bottle opener from the famous old Burton Brewery Allsopp, and a frisbee (yes that’s right) from the very new Irish brewery Metalman.

We have ways of making you say "Allsopp"

Allsopp were a major brewery in Burton upon Trent along with the likes of Bass, and one of the largest in England at one time. They were in the news again recently when a bottle of their 12% “Arctic Ale”, brewed for Sir Edward Belcher’s voyage to the Northwest Passage was sold on Ebay for over $500,000. It was

Very Old, Very Cold.

unopened, waxed and corked, from 1852.

Allsopp merged with Ind Coope in 1935, and the name was no longer used by 1959, so my little opener must be that old at least. I found it in my Grandmother’s house, and as you can see, it is in the shape of their trademark, a hand, and engraved on it is simply “Say Allsopp”, one of those charmingly simple old slogans. Despite my best scrubbing efforts it’s still quite tarnished, but I find it a very pleasing little opener and I use it more than any other.

Hi there!

My second item for ‘show and tell’ is a frisbee. I got it from one of Ireland’s newest breweries, Metalman. Grainne and Tim first put Metalman Pale Ale in Irish pubs early this year, and it was followed by ‘Windjammer’, a pale amber beer with buckets of New Zealand hops. It smells like a tropical fruit basket, it’s fruity, smooth and easygoing, and it’s going down a storm in pubs and at festivals, such as the Bloom festival in the Phoenix Park, Dublin, where I had some yesterday. Metalman are based in Waterford, but they are borrowing a brewery in Tipperary at the moment while they set their kit up. If you make it to Ireland check them out, and maybe they’ll even make it to you, wherever you are, someday. I think their logo is fantastic, I don’t blame them for wanting to stick it on a frisbee.

Our summer is scheduled to take place here in Ireland this weekend, next week we’re back to frost I am told. I’m going to make use of this frisbee. I hear that if you flip it over it doubles as a beer tray!

Metal Man, Plastic Frisbee.

5 Comments

Filed under Beer, Beer Review, Brewery

5 responses to “Session #52 “Beer Collectibles”

  1. Pingback: The Session #52 Roundup: Beer Collectibles & Breweriana | All Over Beer

  2. Tried and tested the beer-tray proposition at Bloom over the weekend – I can confirm it works for the right number/size of beers! 😀

  3. thank you for pointing “The Session” out. I have seen the logo on many blogs, and always wondered what it is about. No one is linking the logo back to the Brookstone Beer Bulletin. 😦

    Btw, cool bottle openers 🙂 I got an old one by myself from Kirin Japan.

    • stoutfellow

      yeah I was confused about it for a while too. Must check what this month’s is. There’s something nice about having an old bottle opener with character!

Leave a Reply

