Dogfish Head 120 Minute IPA

What a Beast

 

It’s my birthday, and I’m going to party like it’s my birthday. Furthermore, my plan was to drink Bacardi like it’s my birthday, but Bacardi isn’t very nice. I have a much better thing than that. As far as beer goes, it’s not terribly far from something like brandy or rum, there are definitely strong rummy fruity notes, Sam Calagione says it gains ‘marmalade’ as it ages, and I can definitely taste that.

Delaware’s Dogfish Head is the flagship for “extreme brewing”, that is anything out of the ordinary, because of either weird ingredients (tropical woods, chicory, juniper branches), or very high abv. 120 minute falls into the second category, it clocks in around 18%, it’s a bottle for sharing.

It is continuously hopped, that is, the hops are added gradually throughout the brew, a technique developed for their more standard 60 minute IPA, and also used with their 90 minutes. The minutes are the time that the wort is boiled for, and the hops added.

My bottle is about 13 months old. I was expecting more hops, but it stands to reason that the hops will fade over time. Extreme rummy notes, and orangey marmalade on the other hand seem to dominate now. This is a sweet beer, it reminds me of brandy, with a little heat. The marmalade in particular is like bitter Seville orange, even a little like orange rind.  There are still hops in the background, and the hop/marmalade fusion is actually delicious. This is one of the most enjoyable beers I’ve ever had, and worth waiting a year for. It’s not available here, nor in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland including the Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies, as far as I know, so People! Cultivate your american friends! (Here’s to you, Peter!)

 

5 Comments

Filed under Beer, Beer Review

5 responses to “Dogfish Head 120 Minute IPA

  1. Gorgeous beer and, as you say, quite spirity but in a smooth way.

  2. kev

    Happy 50th stoutfellow. You’re looking rematkably youthful for such an age!

  3. Unfortunately I haven’t tried the 120 minute, but really loved the 60 and 90 minute IPA’s. Definitely a beer I will have to seek out, should be some friends home from the US for Xmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

