Randy Williams IPA

This is the story of my latest brew, called Randy Williams IPA. For a long time I’ve been looking to get back in touch with my American side, and do a massive strong multi-american-hopped monster. I want to change my name to Chuck, Randy, or Duke. I’m getting the urge to chest bump people and rock out, and to greet every misfortunate event and depressing situation with an inexplicably optimistic can-do attitude. I’ll need Randy Williams for this.

Malt Sack

There are two immediate antecedents to my glorious conclusion (Randy Williams). The first is that  homebrew stockist new kid on the block Donal, of bestbrew suddenly out of the blue was offering 25KG sacks of Munich malt, kilned by the famous Bamberg Maltster Weyermann for only €26! Couple that with his free shipping at the moment! Couple that with €5 discount if you become a friend on facebook (yes I am now friends with a shop). Only 21 clams! I can’t turn down a bargain. They must have fallen off the back of a truck. But what is a Weyermann truck doing in Athlone? It’s a long way home to Bamberg, and that is a mystery for another post.

But what was I to do with all this munich malt I asked myself? I already had all the malt a boy could want, after the recent massive barrel related purchase from Bairds in England, and this included an unopened bag of Munich. What was I doing with so much specialty malt anyway? Then I remembered that Munich ist kein specialty malt, it’s just a darker, sweeter base malt. Base malt is any malt that is capable of self converting, that is, it contains enough enzymes to convert its starches to fermentable sugars. The more you roast or stew a malt the less of this it has, so you couldn’t brew a beer of all dark malt. Base malt makes up 70-90% of the malt bill in a beer, sometimes 100%. Even in a stout, pale malt can male up 80% or more of the grain bill. The palest malt is Pilsener malt, at about 2 srm. Then Pale malt such as Maris Otter is about 3 srm. Munich on the other hand is about 5 srm, at least my Munich from Bairds is, there are different grades. So it shouldn’t be much darker than a normal pale beer.  Randy Williams should clock in at about 8.5 srm

Odell IPA

The second antecedent is that the other night I picked up my first ever bottle of Odell IPA. Up until then I had thought Dogfish Head’s 60 minute and Sierra Nevada’s Torpedo were the pinnacle of US IPAs, but I was wrong. They are fine beers, but Odell was something really special. It’s true of course that I had been amassing certain american style hops with a thought to making an Epic IPA, and so I decided I needed to find out what was in Odell and make something similar. I trawled the internet and I hope that what I came up with from the various tips and speculation won’t be too far off the mark.

Munich Hopper Randy Williams

At the same time I thought, why not do an all Munich grain, extremely hoppy american beer? And so that’s what I did. The body that the munich malt gives it should be more than a match for my massive american hop schedule.

And Who is Randy Williams? He won gold at the 1972 Olympic games, for the long jump. So you could say it’s a gigantic American hop in Munich.

Here’s the recipe, and some pictures from the brew

It seems 12KG is just about my upper limit for mashing

Randy Williams IPA, 35L, OG: 1.077, 8% ABV, 68.4 IBU, 8.5 SRM

  1. Munich Malt  10KG
  2. Carapils            1KG
  3. Acid Malt       400G

The hopping is immense.

  1. Magnum 35G   60 mins
  2. Chinook 35G    30 mins
  3. Centennial 25G, Chinook 25G, Cascade 32G, 10 mins
  4. Simcoe 25G, Columbus 25G, 5 mins
  5. Amarillo 30G, Centennial 25G, Knockout
  6. Simcoe 50G, Columbus 50G, Dry Hopped

the 5 hop additions ready to go

Yeast is two packets of Safale 05. I added 1tsp of gypsum and 1/2 a tsp of magnesiumto the mash. The mash was 1hr, 65c, PH was 5.4 (due to the acid malt)

A Tun of Steaming Mash



10 Comments

Filed under Beer, equipment, Hops, Recipe, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Randy Williams IPA

  1. sounds great, hopefully I’ll get to sample at a future tasting night. Bought some of the Odell’s stuff at drinkstore at the weekend, along with a Dogfish 90 minute, looking forward to trying them.

    • stoutfellow

      Oh you’re going to love them! The Odells was bottled in may, so still reasonably fresh. Unfortunately I think the dogfish stuff is still the stuff that came in a good while ago, and it’s bottled over a year ago now. Hop monsters tend to fade after a number of months. 90 min is still a cracker though. mmm.

  2. Taf

    Hmm, I didn’t realise that you could use so much munich as a base malt. I might be tempted to get a sack now…

    • stoutfellow

      well I’m not saying it’s good, but I looked at the various fora and it seemed that lots of americans were making IPAs with just munich, or munich as base. Munich is the base malt in a bock, or doppelbock usually, and as usual with base malt it can be anything from 70-95% of the bill so I figured it would be fine. Also the munich I used from Bairds is very light, only 5 srm, unlike many munichs are in the 10-20 range which would give a much more orange beer. I tasted this today, but it was still quite sweet. There was still a krauesen head on it, but it had dropped to 15. I Customarily get high attentuation on account of my horizontal fermentations so I’m expecting it to drop to at least 10. Also it was yeasty, which clouded the hops. Should be special though.

  3. Pingback: Brewing for the Barrel « Stout Fellow!

  4. Pingback: Two New Brewing Techniques | Stout Fellow!

  5. Tube

    How did this turn out Richie? I’ve a 25kg bag of Munich from Bairds that I’m going to rip into soon, and I’m thinking of doing a stout on Munich instead of pale.

    • stoutfellow

      Randy was awesome. It’s one of my favourites of all the beers I’ve done, but I’ve never tried to recreate it. I think I’ll give it a go once we get some nice fresh 2011 hops in in the next month or so. You definitely need to hop it highly to balance the munich, but I think it works very well.

Leave a Reply

