Christmas Ale ’09

“It’s a mince-pie in a bottle”, I imagine my interlocutor saying, when he looks at the recipe for 09’s Christmas beer. Everyone needs a little tipple to warm them up at Christmas, and the other day I was sitting with friend and fellow brewer Peter, in Messrs Maguire, a Dublin Brewpub. They had a seasonal beer, called Juløl, or ‘Christmas beer’ in Scandinavian. I have to say I quite liked it, especially at €4 a pint. Peter wasn’t so sure, but overall the folks at ICB seem to enjoy it, there is a discussion thread here .  Anyway following my discussion in the pub, I decided my beer should be far more heavily spiced (because there’s nothing subtle about christmas), and a little stronger. Juløl is 6%, mine should be more like 8%. I thought I wouldn’t need the normal 35L batch, which is just as well, since a beer that strong would have a huge grain bill. I decided to just do a one step infusion mash, which is how some of the stronger belgians do it, like Westvleteren 12, at least according to my bible, “Brew Like a Monk”. That means I would just fill up the mash tun and drain once, with no sparge, only collecting the strongest first runnings. I was aiming for 19L.

The precise spices were chosen by my foodie girlfriend, who was excited about the spicing.  As you will see it is pretty much a mince pie, or as my cousin observed “it sounds like mulled wine”. Mulled beer I suppose. It’s no accident that we were celebrating the start of Advent with a Swedish friend (apparently it’s a big deal over there) by drinking large amounts of Glögg, which is mulled wine with the one massive structural defect corrected- the alcohol usually boils off mulled wine if you’re not careful, the Swedes dunk a shot of vodka or something similar in at the end to counteract this tragic loss.

One other element that adds to my mince-pie beer is the addition of pureed raisins. I took this idea from Dogfish Head’s Raison D’Être beer, there is a recipe for it in the latest (Dec 09) BYO magazine. There is a more in depth recipe in Sam Calagione’s book “Extreme Brewing”, although it is an extract only recipe. In any case the idea is you take a cup of wort from the boiler when you start the boil, add it to the raisins and blend them, re-adding the mixture 10 minutes from the end. I decided to hop not too heavily with EKG, and have no late addition, hoping that the spices will dominate the nose. I used Wyeast  “Forbidden Fruit” as my yeast because spice and Belgian fruity yeast go together, also it has a higher alcohol tolerance. I mashed at 62c for 20 minutes, raising to 66c for 60 minutes with a boiling water addition. As it happens I only collected 13L of this, but that 13L had a gravity of  1.110, so I topped up to 18L, which should have a gravity of about 1.080, (you do the math[s]) which was my target. Here is the recipe

7KG Pale Ale Malt

500G Munich Malt

30G Amber Malt (Home Roasted)

70G Dark Roasted Malt (Home Roasted)

100G Roast Malt (Home Roasted)

250G Homemade Medium Candi Sugar, for colour, following Brew365’s method (10 minutes from end of boil)

200G Pureed Raisins (10 minutes from end of boil)

40G EKG 4.8 (60 minutes)

30G EKG 4.8 (20 minutes)

Cloves (7G, 10 minutes from end of boil)

Allspice Berries, Crushed lightly (15G, 10 minutes from end of boil)

Cinnamon (2 sticks, 10 minutes from end of boil)

Orange Peel (9G,  end of boil)

IBU is about 25. ABV should be around 8%

So between that and my Figgy Porter, I should be set for fireside festivities!

11 Comments

Filed under Beer, Recipe

11 responses to “Christmas Ale ’09

  1. Phwoar. That should be nice. Should be ready for drinking next Christmas too, though probably at its best some time around 2018.

    • stoutfellow

      Haha! Yeah I might bury a few bottles in a time capsule. In millennia to come Dogfish Head can try to recreate it as a gimmick.

  2. Dr Jacoby

    Jaysus. If you need someone to hold the leash on this monster I’ll happily lend a hand, and I’ll even throw in some warm-up drinks to calm the nerves. I’m planning to make a giant pork pie for the holidays. How’s about we combine forces? Work ends on the 18th for me – let me know what suits.

    • marceldesailly

      sounds epic!christmas beer and a giant pork pie,’nuff said.

      funny you put in the pureed raisins I was thinking just the other day what pureed mango might do for a big pale ale…possibly not a lot!

      • stoutfellow

        yeah, peter does a wicked porkpie. This will be an epic beer hopefully. Pureed mango might work in a pale ale, make a big one, the mango should compliment the c hops I would have thought, it reminds me of Magic Hat number 9, (which I haven’t had) but which is supposed to be very interesting, it’s an APA but with pureed apricots , there is a clone recipe on brew365 . you should try this at christmas! I got the raisin idea from dogfish head.

  3. That sounds really tasty. I made a winter warmer with christmas spices last year and it was lovely. The raisins are a great touch. I think they will make it very special.

    • stoutfellow

      Yeah I remember your winter warmer last year, I think that was the first ICB tasting I ever went to, lovely spicing! I’m bottling this now actually, It’s super murky looking, I reckon that’s the raisins clouding it. I wonder will it clear? Preliminary tasting (hic!) shows the cloves dominating, but also a lot more orange than I was expecting, perhaps it’s accentuated by the raisins. Hopefully I can keep a bottle or two for the january tasting!

  4. kenanddot

    On a different topic, what do you make of the newly advertised Dingle Distillery?
    (you know who)

    • stoutfellow

      I don’t know anything about it! Distillery eh? new whiskey is always welcome. I recently discovered that Sainsbury’s Irish Single Malt is made by cooley, and very nice it is too, and cheap. where did you find out about this new distillery?

    • stoutfellow

      Oh I just did a search- looks like it’s the porterhouse people.

  5. Pingback: Beer for Deer « Stout Fellow!

Leave a Reply

